School Day Task Force

School Day Task Force

Legislation passed in 2018 directs the office of Superintendent of Public Instruction to convene a work group to define the duties and responsibilities that entail a “school day” under the state’s statutory program of basic education. The superintendent shall report the recommendations to the education policy and operating budget committees of the legislature by January 14, 2019.

Authorizing Legislation: E2SSB 6362 Sec. 209



Click on column headings to sort.

Name Representing Appointing Organization
Amy AndersonAssociation of Washington BusinessAssociation of Washington Business
Arden WatsonPilchuck Uniserve CouncilWashington Education Association
Bernie ThomasLummi NationTribal Leaders Congress
Brian JeffriesPartnership for LearningPartnership for Learning
Concie PedrozaSeattle School DistrictBilingual Education Advisory Committee
Cris TurnerBonny Lake High School, Sumner School DistrictAssociation of Washington School Principals
Dawna Hansen-MurrayPublic School EmployeesPublic School Employees
Freedom JohnsonLake Hills Elementary, Bellevue School DistrictWashington Education Association
Frieda TakamuraEducational Opportunity Gap Oversight and Accountability CommitteeEducational Opportunity Gap Oversight and Accountability Committee
Gary CohnEverett School DistrictWashington Association of School Administrators
Gina YontsAssociation of Washington School PrincipalsAssociation of Washington School Principals
Janie WhiteNorth Elementary, Renton School DistrictWashington Education Association
Jenny SteeleNorth Middle School, Everett School DistrictWashington Education Association
Joel AuneWashington Association of School Administrators Washington Association of School Administrators
John BashTumwater School DistrictWashington Association of School Administrators
JoLynn BergeSeattle School DistrictWashington Association of School Business Officials
Marnie MaraldoIssaquah School DistrictWashington State School Directors' Association
Matt CharltonManson School DistrictWashington Association of School Administrators
Michael AllenFreeman Elementary, Freeman School DistrictWashington Education Association
Nancy ChamberlainWashington State Parent Teacher AssociationWashington State Parent Teacher Association
Nathan BowlingWashington Teacher Advisory CouncilWashington Teacher Advisory Council
Patty WoodWashington State Board of EducationWashington State Board of Education
Sarah ButcherSpecial Education Advisory CouncilSpecial Education Advisory Council
Shannon McCannFederal Way School DistrictWashington Education Association
Shelley RedingerSpokane School DistrictWashington Association of School Administrators
Tim GarchowWashington State School Directors' AssociationWashington State School Directors' Association



Upcoming Meetings

August 22, 2018
9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Renton Technical College, Annex Building, Room 125
Tukwila Room
3000 NE 4th Street
Renton, WA 98056

October 10, 2018
9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Spokane School District, Boardroom, 1st floor
200 N. Bernard
Spokane 99201

November 1, 2018 (Cancelled)
9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Educational Service District 113
6005 Tyee Dr SW
Tumwater, WA 98512

December 7, 2018
9:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Dunbar Room
1000 Oakesdale Avenue AW, Suite 110
Renton, WA 98057

Contact Us

Jami Peterson


RCW 28A.150.220: Basic education

28A.150.260: Allocation of state funding to support instructional program of basic education

   Updated 1/22/2019

Old Capitol Building, PO Box 47200, 600 Washington St. S.E., Olympia, WA    98504-7200    360-725-6000  TTY 360-664-3631
Contact Us    |    Site Info    |    Staff Only    |    Privacy Policy